School Curriculum – Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage covers children’s development from birth to the end of their first year in school. The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum covers six key areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The purpose of EYFS is to give every child the best start in life because it is firmly recognised how much early experiences impact on children’s future chances. A clear emphasis is given to children learning actively, through play and conversations and that their learning should take place inside and outside.

Useful Guidance – Early Years Foundation Stage

The documents below provide useful information for parents with children starting in the Early Years Foundation Stage.  Links to presentations given by Rush Common School with further information, are also available on our website.