National Curriculum


School Curriculum – Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage covers children’s development from birth to the end of their first year in school. The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum covers six key areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The purpose of EYFS is to give every child the best start in life because it is firmly recognised how much early experiences impact on children’s future chances. Clear emphasis is given to children learning actively, through play and conversations and that their learning should take place inside and outside.



School Curriculum – KS1 and KS2

Curriculum coverage is planned carefully with key skills progression and Breadth of Study being monitored closely by the Curriculum Leader, Subject Leaders and the Leadership Team.

Topics  are creatively planned, with direct reference to the National Curriculum, to be challenging, meaningful and routed in cross curricular practice as far as possible.  As an academy, we are able to develop a curriculum that directly meets the needs and interests of our pupils and  whole school community. The National Curriculum objectives and key skills have been carefully integrated within these topics, and curriculum planning is reviewed on a regular basis. Please see our curriculum policy and curriculum overviews for more information.

A guide for Parents can be found in the link below:



Reading and Phonics

Rush Common School aims to instil a passion for books and foster a love for reading right from the start so that children become confident and fluent readers.

As a school we strive to help children recognise that reading is a life-long skill and will be a fundamental throughout their lives…….

Click on the document below to read more:



Individual Year Group Curriculum Maps

Each of our classes has its own curriculum map and curriculum overview; these are accessible from the respective class page below:

Foundation Stage